Week 9 – The Year Of Hibernation

Passive Aggressive
Both Sides Are Even
Fettering
Wake Up
Guns Blazing
City
Nailing The Coffin Shut
No Reply
Okay, Remain
She Just Likes To Fight

Why Won’t You Make Up Your Mind?
If You’re Getting This

Above is a nice little video one of my friends recorded from our set at The Espy on the same night as Steve Kilbey (The Church) and Ricky Maymi (Brian Jonestown Massacre). Pretty awesome if you ask me. Harvey rocked up in forma attire to play drums that night. I think he got a little hot (Given a typical gig consists of him ripping his shirt off halfway through the set. The sound guy was a bit shit though. I couldn’t hear my bass at all but I still rocked out into the crowd and nearly took someone out with the neck of my bass. I enjoyed in the video, Harvey losing his stick and still keeping time. He truly is unreal.

I got the audio files of our tracks off Alex and whipped a quick album artwork on Adobe Photoshop 7 with a photo from my Instagram collection. I must have spent hours burning CD’s I gave out to people who came to the gig on the weekend which people seemed to enjoy. People love free shit.

She Just Likes To Fight

I don’t even know how this song came out. Musically, the band was banging our heads against the wall playing stuff we’d played for years while trying to come up with something that was going to be worth it. It had been a while for a good song. I thought about how maybe I was over-thinking the intensity of how complicated a song needs to be in order for it to be good and “She Just Likes To Fight” came out. It’s essential E minor, D major, C major, repeat. The key riff came about while Ed had been recording for the CD, I was sitting in the other room playing an acoustic guitar and just went with it on the spot. I knew I would write it down and save it for later. Try and guess what the song is about.

Your silence, I’m dying to try
I write it on your wall but you don’t reply so why not?
Did I do you so wrong?
Bet your friends are thinking how lucky you are to be gone

And this all heals in time
But the seasons change is just another way of saying you were right
You just wanted to fight
The best of both worlds don’t come into your mind

And if you had enough
We bring out the worst in each other
At ten thousand miles, so why would we bother to try?
You don’t move me no more
You pulled the pieces apart when you walked out the door

And this all heals in time
But the seasons change is just another way of saying you were right
You just wanted to fight
The best of both worlds don’t come into your mind

I just wanted you to stay
But you give yourself away
And you’ll give yourself away for the rest of them

About johnlrobbie

Well, I live in Melbourne, & have since ever, among other cities in Australia. I'm currently working at the cafe in the ABC Studio in Southbank, & it's giving me some great ideas of what I just may do at uni. I'm thinking Communications at this stage. I'll update this at some point later...

Leave a Reply

