Week 6 – This Is Happening

Image

Another day spent in the studio. This time we recorded where we have practiced every week for the last three years, at Bake House Recording Studios on Hoddle St in Richmond. This is where bands like Nick Cave and Cut Copy rehearse when they come to town. And I’ve heard The Panics jamming here too, so it’s not cheap, but it is worth it. Today was much quicker than last week. I got the bass lines down in about two hours. I probably could have spent more time doing them but they sounded great none the less. Ed got guitar chords for two of the songs done also which is good to hear some of the songs finally coming together, although I’ve played them so many times now I could almost be getting sick of them. But the songs are like my children and I love them all equally.

Nailing The Coffin Shut

This is the song that really hits home for me. It’s probably the most personal song I’ve ever written. It’s slow, and very dark. I’ve spent the last three years on and off with what has been my longest relationship to date. The song was originally called, “Fuck You Bitch”. No, I’m kidding it wasn’t. But it could be. I haven’t really based this song on any other. I don’t think that she was the down fall of the relationship, and I don’t think I was either. In the end I think we just turned each other into two people neither of us recognized anymore. A lot of my songs posted here are related to her but this would have to be the signature song.

It’s sort of about how we would fight, break up, get back together and talk about how we were going to work on things and make them better. That the relationship was going to be fair and equal, but ultimately the same problems would come back and we’d fight again. We really gave it everything either of us could but in the end it was dead in the ground, and we nailed the coffin shut.

What d’you say, I don’t care if I told you
What d’you say, I don’t care if I know
I happen to be the last thing that you noticed
I happen to be the last thing that you know

Did I catch you at a worser time?
Are you waiting on another line?
Have I boarded up out last goodbyes?
While waiting on the other side

I nailed the coffin shut too tight
And all your last requests denied

I’m wiping off the dust
Nailing the coffin shut
You don’t know me at all
You should have paid more attention

When you way up all that we’ve been through
What the hell was I supposed to do?
Never listen when I need you to
Only hearing what you see as truth

“We always fight”, is no excuse
Remind me what I see in you

I’m wiping off the dust
Nailing the coffin shut
You don’t know me at all
You should have paid more attention

So just let me go
I need to know
The timing’s off
It never stops
We never know

I nailed the coffin shut too tight
And all your last requests denied

I’m wiping off the dust
Nailing the coffin shut
You don’t know me at all
You should have paid more attention

About johnlrobbie

Well, I live in Melbourne, & have since ever, among other cities in Australia. I'm currently working at the cafe in the ABC Studio in Southbank, & it's giving me some great ideas of what I just may do at uni. I'm thinking Communications at this stage. I'll update this at some point later...

Leave a Reply

