Week 2 – Plans

Image

We have some ideas of songs floating around after a week. I’ve got 7 books full of lyrics I’ve been writing since I was 15, when I first started to write songs. Sometimes I write new songs, other days I add on or alter songs I already have. It’s hard to force songs out though. The first song is called “Guns Blazing”, with more detail of the song below. In this same session we got started on “Wake Up”, another song I had written a couple of years ago. As you can see in the photo, we were quite hot from the humid weather.

Above is an enormous flyer for some deep house festival that was going on over summer. Apparently John Roberts is a deep house producer from Chicago who is quite famous. A few of my uni friends love him. I used this for some solo shows I played in small bars around Melbourne. People were mighty pissed off when I played acoustic music instead of deep house.

But we often talk about the band, and where we got the name Friendly Nightmares from. My old house mate for some bizarre reason called me “Cock”. According to him it’s short for Cockney which apparently translates to friend. He got Cockney from the television series The Mighty Boosh, which in one episode features an antagonist played by Noel Fielding called The Cockney Nightmare – a badass dude. I believe at the time we thought the name was catchy enough that people would remember. You do stupid things when you’re young. I can’t say it has been the best band name ever, but people do remember.

Guns Blazing

It’s about the ambiguities of finding love. The trials and tribulations. I wrote it when I was about 16 because before the band I played acoustic music solo. The riff was so catchy, I had to make the song more than what it was. I also quite liked the lyrics to the chorus

I will go out the same way that I came in here with you
Like in is the end and out is where I’ve already been through

I got the idea from the album title of Modest Mouse’s Good News For People Who Love Bad News. Very clever in that it doesn’t actually make any sense.

I’m going out guns blazing
I know we’re in it for the same thing
So don’t try and stop me, it won’t change things

I will go out the same way that I came in here with you
Like in is the end and out is where I’ve already been through

Cause you keep me in the dark
A place where you light up and I only spark
If only you knew where I’d been
You’d open up and let me in

I will go out the same way that I came in here with you
Like in is the end and out is where I’ve already been through

Cause you hang me up to dry
I’ll kill myself trying to stay in your life
If only you knew where I’d been
You’d open up and let me in

About johnlrobbie

Well, I live in Melbourne, & have since ever, among other cities in Australia. I'm currently working at the cafe in the ABC Studio in Southbank, & it's giving me some great ideas of what I just may do at uni. I'm thinking Communications at this stage. I'll update this at some point later...

Leave a Reply

