Week 1 – Writer’s Block

Image

My band, Friendly Nightmares has been together for three years now. The idea started in the attic of a house I was living in at the time. Back then we had a different drummer. The band consists of myself on bass and lead vocals, Edward Dunstan on lead guitar, and originally Stefan Gatto on drums until a year later he left the band – or did we kick him out? I cannot remember. Finally after getting a new drummer, having a couple of band sessions together, playing a live gig or 2, we collectively decided to sit down, write some songs, record an album, album artwork and do a little promotional music video clip for our tracks.

(Left to right: Edward Dunstan, John Roberts, Harvey Whelan)

The purpose of this blog is to log the events over a 10 week period from start to finish. Writing the songs, practicing, performing, recording, and producing an EP.

No Reply

“No Reply” was one of the first songs we put together at the start. I had written the chord progression and had a strong idea of how I wanted it to be. I wrote the lyrics after being sick of always being on call for girls when they needed me. Spending a night by my phone waiting for a reply that would ultimately never come. I hate that! It’s so confusing.

I was trying to get through to you, no reply
If you’re leaving don’t forget to write, and then sign
I’ve made the best of my mistakes, so comply

We are always just so disconnected
There’s no way to get through
I got lost somewhere along the way
And I’m breaking up on you

I was trying to get through to you, no reply
Must be easy when you’re always right, why aren’t I?

We are always just so disconnected
There’s no way to get through
I got lost somewhere along the way
And I’m breaking up on you

About johnlrobbie

Well, I live in Melbourne, & have since ever, among other cities in Australia. I'm currently working at the cafe in the ABC Studio in Southbank, & it's giving me some great ideas of what I just may do at uni. I'm thinking Communications at this stage. I'll update this at some point later...

Leave a Reply

